Testimonials

If you would like to submit a testimonial to River Canal Rescue click here and complete the form.

April 2019

Is it possible to give 11 / 10 ?
Very impressed with RCR after my gearbox decided to die at Easter. Engineer attended and diagnosed the problem (Gearbox out job) but as it was Easter obviously couldn’t do much on the day.
RCR came out a few days later ( I told them not to hurry as I could limp it home and they would be busy over Bank Holiday), removed gearbox, repaired and refitted it.
Brilliant service.
Many thanks to Ross and Tom who did the work, Dylan and Abbie.

January 2019

  • (Member 106832)

Engineer was absolutely brilliant, couldn’t have been better. Fixed it very quickly, Dylan was amazing! Dylan, RCR Engineer

 

  • (Member 209097)

Excellent Service by Jim, he persevered on the job that needed to be done and couldn’t ask for better- Jim, RCR Engineer

 

  • (Member 206588)

Engineer was fantastic. Paul was such a pleasant man and i was delighted with the service. He sorted it within no time – Paul, RCR Engineer

 

  • (Member 105820)

Have only had excellent service, which is why I took out the gold package. Hope I don’t need you Guy’s to soon again but I can rest assured that you’re on the end of the phone if I need you. Always very pleasant, helpful and don’t have to wait long before someone gets back to me telling me who and how long it will take coming out to me, as a disabled boater I need reassuring that things are being sorted – Sam & Jordan, RCR Engineers & Office Staff

 

  • (Member 210075)

Excellent!! First class service – Bill, RCR Engineer

 

  • (Member 309535)

Excellent thank you, great service – engineer was great. Rusty, RCR Engineer

 

  • (Member 205244)

Got me out of some trouble. Excellent service – Jake, RCR Engineer

 

  • (Member 105478)

Excellent – 5 stars for all… – Jason, RCR Engineer

December 2018

 

  • (Member 105624) 

Tom was very polite and seemed to have a comprehensive knowledge. We greatly value R.C.R.’s service which takes so much of the anxiety concomitant with boating away. Tom RCR Engineer

 

  • (Member 504046)  

Very happy with service provided. Thought the engineer was excellent. I be looking to upgrade from Retainer in the New Year as he was i was that impressed! Jim RCR Engineer

 

 

  • (Member 206383)

Andy is excellent, no fuss, gets on with the job, explains well, Who other than RCR would get me moving on New Year’s Eve? Andy RCR Engineer

  • (Member 105638)

Bill was fantastic, such a pleasure to meet. Went above and beyond for us – Bill RCR Engineer

 

  • (Member 308335)  

Jason was Excellent thank you, great service – Jason RCR Engineer

 

  • (Member 304641)

Brilliant, 100% satisfied, engineer knew exactly what he was doing. – Paul RCR Engineer

 

  • (Member 105855) 

Excellent. He was very knowledgeable and fixed the problem with ease. He also had time to explain what the issue was which is fantastic from a new boaters perspective. Thank you – Sam RCR Engineer

 

  • (Member 306752)

Perfect, Dylan was great and he knew what he was doing. Dylan RCR Engineer

 

  •  (Member 105433)

Today I had my first experience contacting RCR and have to say that I was extremely impressed with the service. The phone was answered quickly and an engineer arrived at my boat inside of 45 minutes. Thank you so much for the great service. 
As a result of today I wondered if it would be possible to change my membership level to Gold. Now you’ve proved you can deliver brilliant service I’d like to go all-in please.

 

  • (Member 105639) 

Will be staying a gold member for as long as I have a boat. The office staff gave good information and support over the phone and i Was kept up to date during the whole process.

 

 

 

2018

Dear RCR,

I wanted to send this email in the hope that my sincere thanks and, i hope, the appropriate recognition will be passed on to your engineer Ollie, who came out to us this evening to repair our breakdown.

This young man has done more to demonstrate how to deliver first class customer service than anyone i have seen in a very long time.

His manner, attitude, attention to detail, professional approach and friendly conversation were a complete breath of fresh air. He arrived having anticipated the likely cause of the problem and had it fixed with no fuss.

He is an absolute credit to RCR and should please be congratulated on the job that he does.

I would also pass on my thanks and appreciation to Tom who arrived with him, who was also extremely helpful and professional and helped to check over the job before they left.

These two young men should be held up as shining examples of how to deliver the very best in customer service.

Thankyou to them both.

Mr & Mrs Hoare

September 2017

I just wanted to say a big thank you to you and to Mark who came to replace the worn O ring in our gearbox the week before last. Fantastic service and a great guy. Many thanks indeed.

September 2017

Dear RCR,

I am a very new member to your organisation and have unfortunately experienced a few break downs over the past few days. I am currently in a break down situation as I type.

I really just want to say how grateful I am to your engineer, Tom Walker, for his continuous positive attitude, his work ethic and his ability to explain to me the technicalities of what he is repairing on my boat.

I think he his a great ambassador for your organisation and I hope you will pass on my appreciation to Tom and his management.

Kind Regards

Chris Buckley

September 2017

Dear Mr. Dabbs,

Thank you for your email this afternoon with invoice attached.  I confirm that this invoice has been paid immediately by BACS this afternoon.

I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you on the response that your team provided – in particular Stephanie who co-ordinated the arrangements and Team Leader Pete who organised the actual re-floating of Fun Gee from the bottom of the T&K marina.

All members of your staff were totally competent and professional, and I would be grateful if you would pass on to them my thanks for their excellent work.

I would not hesitate to recommend both RCR rescue service and Canal Contracting, and I am really surprised that your organisation is not better recognised and recommended by marina operators on the Thames.

Kind regards,

Richard Truelove

August 2017

Hi,

Your engineer John has just finished repairing a split fuel pipe on my Perkins 4107.  Despite it being the end of a very busy day and being held up in traffic he was cheerful and friendly and quickly diagnosed the problem and repaired it efficiently, answering my questions all the while about what he was doing. He then returned the engine. An excellent job for which I am very grateful.

August 2017

Hello,

 

We called you this morning (10th August) because we had an emergency when our engine overheated and cut out on us

Our Engineer Kerry was absolutely marvellous.. We were very impressed. Not only was he very efficient, he was likeable and a pleasure

Just though you should know

thanks again

Stephen and Lucia Davies

 

July 2017

Hi

Would just like to express our thanks to RCR for their assistance with our two recent breakdowns particularly Mark and John who attended our boat in the Wolverton/ Milton Keynes area.

The whole operation from the time we first made contact with the office, was very smooth and we were kept informed all along.

 

Many thanks

Mike and Lesley Laishley

N.B Cair Vie

July 2017

Dear All,

RCR’s response to our recent gearbox breakdown is a credit to all concerned.

The first response was within 45 minutes and the diagnosis naturally very quick.  The real deal for us was how the job was turned around within 48 hours, when the original estimate was several days.  To say that your team pulled out all the stops to get us to the RN Rally in Stourbridge is an understatement.

Please thank them all, they are stars!  I will certainly be banging the drum for you at Stourbridge.

Regards

Kevin & Trish

Nb EBONY

 

July 2017

Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for your response to my call for help on Sunday last. I was attended by one of your engineers who was very kind to me having identified a novice’s mistake. It also justifies my confidence in your organisation to be available at short notice.

Thank you again.

 

June 2017

THIS IS A NOTE OF THANKS I volunteer for a charity called the Canal Boat Adventure Project, and our boat is a wide beam canal boat called ‘Ada’.  We had cause to call out one of your engineers last Thursday afternoon  when a large piece of twisted metal became lodged between the propeller and the bottom of the boat.

This is to note our Thanks and Appreciation for the prompt service we received.   The engineer was with us within half an hour of making the initial call.  He was polite, knowledgeable and efficient.   The object (which appeared to once have been an aluminium pan!) was eventually extracted, thankfully with no obvious damage to the boat, or propeller.

Thanks once again, it is good to know ‘you have got our back’.

Kim Fraser

30th April 2017

We thought you’d be interested in seeing the reason for the loss of forward or reverse that we suddenly experienced whilst entering a lock at Hyde. Despite the prop turning freely, applying full  revs in both forward and reverse, we couldn’t understand why we were standing still! That was until we opened the weed hatch to find this tyre had  conveniently decided to completely hook itself over our Axiom prop!

Our efforts to dislodge it were fruitless but, RCR to the rescue, and it was off in 3 minutes.

Regards

Geoff & Jane Wilson

 

 

DSCF2125

May 2017

Thank you for a great service. I am sure this will be no surprise that your engineer Steve was professional, informative, friendly and of high integrity. I would have no hesitation recommending your company.

Thankyou

Mr Budd

April 2017

Hi,

On the subject of my recent breakdown, i was dealt with by Abby and would like to say what a credit she is to your organisation. She was very helpful and kept me informed of how things were proceeding. In addition, the engineers Simon & Jimmy, were very good and even came by the boat to see if i needed any provisions – an action which was very much appreciated.

Regards

Mr F Jones

April 2017

Hi, Further to your engineers attendance to our breakdown on Thursday 13th April, i would just like to say what a prompt, professional and absolute superb service we received.

The engineers name was Kez. He showed more useful things on the engine than we ever were told in our almost non-existent handover during the purchasing process over three years ago.

Without him we would have been stuck – big time!

Very best wishes Mr Pearson.

 

November 2016

Hi there,

 

I’m just getting in touch to give you some feedback from my attendance to this course (sorry it’s taken a while!).

I thought the course was really great. I had no knowledge of engines, at all, and wanted to better understand the basics. I found the course extremely accessible and confidence building. I learnt a lot over the weekend and enjoyed being able to put the classroom learning into practice in the workshop. I attended the course on my own and as a women going into a traditionally male ‘thing’ it can sometimes be a bit difficult. I was made to feel very welcome and the tutors and the other attendees made the weekend very enjoyable. Yesterday I had engine trouble on my boat. I was able to diagnose the problem and today have replaced both alternator belts by myself based on what I’d learnt on the course. My engine’s up an running now. There’s no way I’d have even known what the problem was if I hadn’t attended this course.

 

Please pass on my thanks to the tutors.

 

Many thanks

 

August 2016

 

Hello RCR. I would like give some feedback following a callout on Monday

1 Aug 2016. After calling in the problem at 8.45am I was phoned back to say an engineer would be with me that day. Tom turned up a couple of hours later and diagnosed a knackered water pump. I was phoned later by a woman who orders spare parts. She has spotted an anomaly in the order

– the photo she had been sent didn’t match the engine she had been told to get parts for. She wanted to check that I did, indeed, have a Vetus

4.80 and not the 4.65 suggested by the serial number. Whatever, her encyclopedic knowledge prevented a wasted callout. Then Richard arrived the next day with the correct part and fitted it. Throughout, RCR kept me in the loop with phone calls to report progress, and completed the repair in excellent time and to a most professional manner. Frankly, I wouldn’t turn the key in the ignition unless I had your team on standby at the end of a phone. Thank you for making my boating experience stress-free. You are worth every penny. Best regards.

January 2016

January 2016

Your Engineer Kerry came out for my annual Inspection last Thursday. This is the second time he has done this. The first time being last year.

Wanted to express my thanks to him for the manner in which he conducted himself and the expertise he was able to impart to me- Once again i learnt a tremendous amount.

His first visit was the reason i chose to have a Gold membership as opposed to Silver, and no doubt will do the same upon renewal.

Please pass on my Thanks and best wishes to Him

Mr P McKay